Committee of the Regions

The Committee of the Regions (CoR) is an advisory body of the European Union. It was founded on the basis of the EU treaty to represent the interests of local and regional authorities Europe-wide. The objective of the CoR is to ensure that citizens can have their views represented on all EU matters that are important to them by the elected level of government that is closest to them.

The CoR has 344 members throughout Europe. Dr Herwig van Staa is head of the Austrian delegation and was elected Vice-President. The positions adopted at the plenary sessions are prepared by specialist committees.

The regions within the Alps have come together under the aegis of the Tyrol to form an inter-regional Alpine Group to speak with one voice in the CoR when discussing issues of common interest.


Dr. Fritz Staudigl:

Committee of the Regions